Jack Keller

Jack Keller

Jack Keller

0 global poker index

0 world poker tour index

$3,900,424 total poker live earnings

Jack Keller poker player profile. Get latest information, winnings and gallery.


Jack Keller
United States
GPI Rank
WPT Wins
total poker live earnings


Jack Keller was an American poker player who won the 1984 World Series of Poker (WSOP) Main Event.

He won two other WSOP bracelet as well as Amarillo Slim’s Super Bowl of Poker twice. Outside of poker, Keller served in the US Air Force prior to becoming a poker player.

Keller was inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame in 1993. He died on December 5, 2003, aged 60.


Keller was born in Tunica, Mississippi in December, 1942. He began playing cards as a teenager in friendly “kitchen games”. He served in the US Air Force prior to becoming a poker player.

His nickname of ‘Gentleman Jack’ was an ironic one, earned while working as a stock broker.

By the early 80s, Keller had earned a reputation as one of the best Seven Card Stud and Lowball players around.

1984 WSOP Main Event

In 1984, Keller won his first bracelet in the $5,000 Seven Card Stud event, and followed that up by winning the Main Event for $660,000. He topped a 132-player field and defeated Byron “Cowboy” Wolford heads-up.

Three years after his Main Event success, Keller quit poker and returned to stock options trading. However, in 1993 he returned to win a third bracelet in the $1,500 Limit Omaha for $61,800.

Jack Keller WSOP Bracelets

Year Event Payout (USD)
1984 Event #7: $5,000 Limit Seven Card Stud $137,500
1984 Event #14: $10,000 NLHE WSOP Main Event $660,000
1993 Event #5: $1,500 Limit Omaha $61,800

WSOP Main Event Winners 1975-84

1984 132 Jack Keller United States $660,000
1983 108 Tom McEvoy United States $540,000
1982 104 Jack Straus United States $520,000
1981 75 Stu Ungar United States $375,000
1980 73 Stu Ungar United States $385,000
1979 54 Hal Fowler United States $270,000
1978 42 Bobby Baldwin United States $210,000
1977 34 Doyle Brunson United States $340,000
1976 22 Doyle Brunson United States $220,000
1975 21 Brian Roberts United States $210,000