Brian Sailor Roberts

Brian Sailor Roberts

Brian Sailor Roberts

0 global poker index

0 world poker tour index

0 total poker live earnings

Brian Sailor Roberts poker player profile. Get latest information, winnings and gallery.


Brian Sailor Roberts
United States
GPI Rank
WPT Wins
total poker live earnings


Brian “Sailor” Roberts was an American poker player who won the 1975 World Series of Poker (WSOP) Main Event.

One of the original Texas road gamblers, Roberts won two WSOP bracelets during his career.

He died in June 1995, and was posthumously inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame in 2012.


Roberts was born in San Angelo, Texas on March 7, 1931. Upon graduating from high school, he joined the US navy and served in the Korean War, earning himself the nickname “Sailor”.

When he eventually returned to Texas, he began playing in underground poker games with fellow rounders Doyle Brunson and Amarillo Slim.

In his book ‘Super System’, Brunson writes the following:

“Sailor, Slim and I stuck together for six years or so and we had some mighty fine times. Once in a while we were down, but mostly we managed to hold our own better than most. Our partnership finally broke up after our first big trip to Las Vegas. We lost our entire bankroll (close to six figures) and, believe me. theres nothing more cantankerous than three broke gamblers, but we have remained close friends to this day”.

1975 WSOP Main Event

Roberts had played at the World Series of Poker every year since its inception in 1970. He finished sixth in 1973 and third in 1974. That same year he picked up his first bracelet in Event #4: $5,000 No-Limit 2-7 Draw.

In 1975, he won the Main Event for $210,000. He defeated Bob Hooks heads-up to top a field of 21 players. He only registered one further WSOP cash, finishing eighth in the 1985 Main Event.

Brian “Sailor” Roberts WSOP Bracelets

Year Event Payout (USD)
1974 Event #4: $5,000 No-Limit 2-7 Draw $35,850
1975 Event #5: $10,000 NLHE WSOP Main Event $210,000

WSOP Main Event Winners 1970-79

1979 54 Hal Fowler United States $270,000
1978 42 Bobby Baldwin United States $210,000
1977 34 Doyle Brunson United States $340,000
1976 22 Doyle Brunson United States $220,000
1975 21 Brian Roberts United States $210,000
1974 16 Johnny Moss United States $160,000
1973 13 Walter Pearson United States $130,000
1972 8 Thomas Preston United States $80,000
1971 6 Johnny Moss United States $30,000
1970 7 Johnny Moss United States N/A